DUBAI – Disgruntled Men in Blue will face Afghanistan, the squad known to play fearless cricket, in its third T20 World Cup 2021 Super 12 Group 2 match in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday

The Kohli-led squad’s main target is to win their remaining three group matches to stay alive in the mega event as their chance of making it to the semifinal does not rest in their hands anymore. 

India’s semi-final hopes clearly hang by a thread after two consecutive defeats by Pakistan and New Zealand in the first two Super 12 fixtures.

With all the damage so far, if India beat the Nabi-led team and Scotland and Namibia in their subsequent games, the former champions would need other results to go their way and the net run rate to favor them to make the last four.

Meanwhile, today’s match is a must-win game in the Super 12 stage of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup and there is a lot at stake for both sides.

As of now, purely on run rate, the Indian cricket team stands only behind Namibia at -1.609. Experts termed the Indian performance as a collective failure rooted by poor planning.

Following the eight-wicket rout by the Black Caps, Kohli admitted that the Indian team was not brave enough while Men in Blue have also faced the music on social media.
Fanatics under the Modi-led government have even crossed the line after it was alleged that the users sent rape threats to the 10-month-old daughter of Virat Kohli.
Meanwhile, the second-placed Afghan team has played three Super 12 matches and has won two while losing one fixture against Green Shirts.
Former Afghanistan skipper Asghar Afghan stepped down as he announced his international retirement after playing against Namibia. The last time India and Afghanistan faced each other was in 2019 which Men in Blue bagged by 11 runs.
India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan, Varun Chakaravarthy 
Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Shahzad(w), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi(c), Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Hamid Hassan, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Usman Ghani, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Fareed Ahmad, Sharafuddin Ashraf


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here